Year End Message 2015

viig_viobaclubhouseOnce again we have reached that time of the year when we look back at the year’s events and cast a thought into what 2016 will bring. For all of us at VIOBA it is no different, we have had a very interesting year in term of events….our biggest was the Annual Dinner held in the VI Quadrangle with a special Tattoo performance by the VICC Infantry and Band and graced by then Minister of Education II, Dato Seri Idris Jusoh. We also took the opportunity to honour our Victorian Sports Personalities. Award winners were Tan Sri. M Jegathesan, Datuk Sieh Kok Chi, Dato Mokhtar Dahari (posthumously) and Rashid Sidek.

The AGM this year saw elections at the VIOBA and the Foundation. A new team was elected to serve VIOBA Foundation until 2017, while a number of the Management Committee members were retained to serve at VIOBA including yours truly. The name change resolution was firmly rejected by members and we remain an old boys’ association. We at VIOBA look forward to working closely with the new Board of the Foundation and the school to move collaborative programs forward.

For the coming year, there will be the traditional events such as the Daniel Shield Games (January 23, 2016) Mokhtar Dahari Challenge (March 12, 2016) and the VIOBA Golf Tournament, to be scheduled in mid April over a weekend in an overseas location. There are plans for an Annual Dinner, honouring our Victorian for Services to the Nation and celebrating the 123rd anniversary of the VI.

We have received much more support from members as well as the school but much remains to be done. As always I seek new ideas and proposals to see how we can serve members and Victorians better so do get in touch with me.

As always towards the year end, many of us will be traveling for our holidays and I wish everyone a very good and safe holidays, have a most excellent Christmas and on behalf of the Management Committee, best wishes for the year ahead, may all your dreams be achieved! Happy New Year!

Warmest Regards,

KC Kwek – President